24 March 2020

Playlist: Music of the Visual World

With so many people in the world being housebound at the moment due to the covid-19 epidemic, I thought I would put together some playlists for people who love animation as much as I do.  

I am starting with the selection that I put together for Nippon Connection in 2018, as most of the films can be found on line. The theme that year was music, so I have included links to the artists whose music features in the animations, so you can also support these musicians by streaming / buying their music during this difficult time of cancelled live events.

The first work in the programme, Moving Colors, is a group project featuring the work of 12 animation creators (aka Taku Team) with each team member representing their favourite colour. The title design is by Taku Furukawa (the Taku of the Team name), experimental animation pioneer and mentor to the professional animators in the team. The team consists of: Takuma Hashitani (orange), Waboku (aka Wataru Nakajima, brown), Hakhyun Kim (purple) Yoshiyuki Kaneko (black), Shiho Morita (red), Moe Koyano (raspberry/turquoise), Yū Tamura (green), Yasuaki Honda (crimson), Yewon Kim (mint), Tomoyoshi Joko (blue) and Hiroco Ichinose (gold).

Moving Colors by TAKU TEAM, 2016

Cosmic by Hiroco ICHINOSE of Decovocal, 2009

How Low Sympathy
by Decovocal / Music by scenarioart, 2014

Slowly Rising
by Hideki INABA / Music by BEATSOFREEN (aka Stan Forebee), 2015

Slowly Rising from kanahebi on Vimeo.

On + On
by Akihiko TANIGUCHI / Music by Cumhur Jay, 2016

Cumhur Jay - On & On - "Dyschronometria" from Akihiko Taniguchi on Vimeo.

The State of Things
by Ryo ORIKASA / Music by Tamaki Roy, 2017

by Sarina NIHEI / Music by Whitney, 2016

Whitney - Polly (Official Music Video) from Sarina Nihei on Vimeo.

Mad Love
by Ryōji YAMADA / Music by Keita SANO, 2017

La Madrague “Country of Westering Sun” マドラグ(西陽の国)
by Yuki HAYASHI / Music by youcan ゆーきゃん, 2017 
- the music video is not available online at the moment, but the song can be streamed

What is available online is an earlier work by Hayashi: his music video for moskitoo's Fragments of a Journey (2014), which screened in my 2015 Nippon Connection selection.

The Synesthesia Ghost
by Atsushi MAKINO / Music by Sasanomaly, 2015

I’ve Got to Take the Laundry In
by Naoya SANUKI / Music by Siamese Cats, 2016

Enjoy Music Club
by Whoppers (Naoya SANUKI and Zuck), 2017

Spring Time - Old Man 青春おじいさん
by Hōji TSUCHIYA / Music by Uri NAKAYAMA, 2017

A Long Dream
by Hōji TSUCHIYA, 2016

Oldman Youngman 加賀遼也 
by Ryoya KAGA, 2016

lilac (bombs Jun Togawa)
by ONIONSKIN / Music by Vampillia, 2015

Nandaka Mou なんだかもう
by ONIONSKIN / Music by Kidori Kidori, 2016

TO & KYO とう と きょう
by Tsuneo GODA, 2017

2020 Cathy Munroe Hotes